Harry Potter Series Gets a New Set of Covers


[dropcap size=small]B[/dropcap]ack in July, we reported the release of an all-new Harry Potter short story featured on Pottermore, J.K. Rowling’s sort of expanded Harry Potter universe online. Though it is no surprise that J.K. Rowling continued the story of Harry in a brief column written from the perspective of gossip journalist Rita Skeeter, rumors have been floating around for quite some time about spinoffs, sequels, prequels, etc. If that happens to be the case, fans have a lot to look forward to; but even so, the existing Harry Potter series is getting a bit of a refresh for a younger demographic, thanks to Bloomsbury.

Bloomsbury Children’s Books are to reinvent the children’s hardback and paperback editions of the phenomenally successful Harry Potter series. Redesigned inside and out, all seven books will feature covers by award-winning artist Jonny Duddle. Along with the brand new artwork, and an updated author biography, the editions will also be reset to create a child-friendly reading experience for a new generation of readers. The titles will also contain highlights from Pottermore, the digital platform for Harry Potter. All seven titles will be published on 1st September 2014. – Bloomsbury.com

While we do not know exactly what will change from the original release, it is interesting to note that the covers (shown below) seem to showcase scenes from the movie that were perhaps not exactly the same from the books. Furthermore, while we are fans of the new art style by Duddle, diehard fans have begun questioning why Harry looks the same age on all the covers, rather than depicting his growth through the years the stories take place.

If you are like us, and want to get your hands on your very own copies, click the text below each cover photo and it will open a new window where you can purchase them from Bloomsbury’s online store.

Harry Potter 1
Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone
Harry Potter 2
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Harry Potter 3
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Harry Potter 4
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Harry Potter 5
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Harry Potter 6
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Harry Potter 7
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

With plans to redesign the paperback and hardback copies of the whole series, in addition to eBook versions as well, we are curious to see what has been added to the story of the boy who lived, and what other major things are to come. For more information check out the Official Press Release and visit Pottermore to get an even deeper look into the world of Harry Potter and his friends.


I prefer Crocs for their style over their comfort.

Latest news

The Steam Summer Sale Has Begun!

Must read